Completed "Security+ Get Certified Get Ahead" - next step?

saran1234saran1234 Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

A quick introduction about me:

I'm a software engineer with very little knowledge about network/security. I bought "Security+ Get Certified Get Ahead" a month back and almost done with the book. I consistently scored about 90% from the practice questions at the end of each chapter.

I'm thinking of reading the "Mega Guide" from preplogic (this is on sale today for $1) and take practice exams from different resources. Do I need to do more than what I have mentioned above?

Thanks in advance
Saran

Comments

• Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Welcome to the forums.

I am reading the same book. I think that you should get the Sec+ mega guide (I have one as well) and review it. I also think a transcender or measure up practice exam/exam package would be helpful to gauge you knowledge and what you need to review. Also make sure you review the exam objectives for anything you might have missed.

Have you set a test date?
  • saran1234saran1234 Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
    knwminus wrote: »
    Welcome to the forums.

I am reading the same book. I think that you should get the Sec+ mega guide (I have one as well) and review it. I also think a transcender or measure up practice exam/exam package would be helpful to gauge you knowledge and what you need to review. Also make sure you review the exam objectives for anything you might have missed.

Have you set a test date?

Thanks for the quick reply. I'm thinking of taking the exam by the end of Jan 2010. I bought Mega guide for $1 :) today.
  • Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    saran1234 wrote: »
    Thanks for the quick reply. I'm thinking of taking the exam by the end of Jan 2010. I bought Mega guide for $1 :) today.