Looking to get more tech related experience...

ElCapitanElCapitan Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I graduated with a BS degree in MIS in 2002. Since then, I have ran the marketing department at a small software company. Being small, I wear many hats but mainly it has been business oriented.

While I am secure for now in my position, I am thinking about getting some tech certifications to fall back on. You never know these days…

Anyway, I am leaning toward MCSE unless anyone can sway me. Should I do A+ first and see how I do?

I’d also like to take the class, rather than study myself. Anyone have any recommendations? I am in central Florida…

Look forward to hearing from all of you!

Comments

• ElCapitanElCapitan Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    By the way, I do have some project management experience and general IT experience in my current role...
  • veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    ElCapitan wrote: »
    Anyway, I am leaning toward MCSE unless anyone can sway me.

This might sway you... icon_lol.gif

http://www.techexams.net/forums/mcsa-mcse-windows-2003-general/49425-do-i-still-have-time.html#post370874

If you are going to go after Microsoft I would advise MCITP:EA.

Out of curiousity, have you considered going after the PMP?

http://www.pmi.org/CareerDevelopment/Pages/AboutPMIsCredentials.aspx
    Thanks for the info.

Am I correct in assuming that MCSE is a waste of time and I should go with MCITP?

Also, I wasn't even aware of the PMP certification? Is this widely recognized? Also, is the experience measured? Any of the projects I managed have been small scale and have been a small part of what I do...

Any other certs that you world recommend?
    Thanks for the info.

Am I correct in assuming that MCSE is a waste of time and I should go with MCITP?