Starting from scratch...

openallnightopenallnight Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I've been a system/network Admin for about 12 years now was laid off 6 months ago, still out of work, and was at burn out and swore I would never go back to IT..........but here I am now, refreshed and ready to go again, but I would love to, need to, go down a different path - IT security, specifically FW's. I have basic knowledge of firewalls and administered ISA server for a couple of years so I do have some basic experience, but absolutely have no experience or have ever seen the Checkpoint interface or know anything about it.

From looking at Checkpoints website I would like to start with the CCSA route and would be so proud and releived if I could obtain that certification (would be my first non MS cert!).
But I'm confused at what to start with. Should it be the CCSA NGX R65 or NGX & NSA??? What's the difference?
Is Checkpoint a software based FW? or is it only installed on a Nokia platform?

They have an ATC that offers a 2 day course but what can I possibly learn in 2 days that would help me obtain the CCSA.

What's more important of course than the cert would be the training. should I buy the product and install it on a home pc? and what books or study guides would you consider? Is a home lab practical??? How dud you guys do it?

Can anyone help out and guide me down this new and intimidating and exciting road??:)
Thanks!!!

Comments

• TurgonTurgon Banned Posts: 6,308 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Hello everyone,