Will this be a good lab?

Javi437Javi437 Member Posts: 46 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys I'm studying for my ccna and taking the 2 test route. I am using the cbtnuggets serious with cisco press books and sme other book that I was giving. My lab so far consist of a 2924xl switch, 2950 switch and 2 2500 router with 2 serial ports on each and one ethernet por on each. Will this be enough for at least the icnd1. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks
CCENT

Comments

• RouteThisWayRouteThisWay Member Posts: 514
    The only thing with the 2500 series routers is that the max IOS is 12.3 and it does not support the SDM.

It is a good start. If you plan to go any further, I would recommend getting a router that can support the 12.4 IOS and SDM, such as any of the 2600XM series or the 3640.

The 2950 switch is fine, the only thing it doesn't have that the 3550, if I recall correctly, is that it doesn't support Layer 3 switching, with the 3550 does.
    "Vision is not enough; it must be combined with venture." ~ Vaclav Havel
  • tha_dubtha_dub Member Posts: 262
    I would also recommend getting at least one 2600 XM router. You can also run CME on a 2600XM. On a tight budget For my money I'd buy a 2611 for an internet access router and then any 2600XM.
  • Javi437Javi437 Member Posts: 46 ■■□□□□□□□□
    tha_dub wrote: »
    I would also recommend getting at least one 2600 XM router. You can also run CME on a 2600XM. On a tight budget For my money I'd buy a 2611 for an internet access router and then any 2600XM.

So this setup would not work even for the icnd1? And thanks for all the inputs I will start looking at some more routers.
    CCENT
    It would work fine for icnd 1. My thinking is what is the price diff between a 2611 and a 25XX ?

You could pickup a 2611 for 50 bucks on ebay. The XM models are faster and support a lot more features but I guess the real question is what do you want to do with them once you've completed the icnd1?
  • mensmens Member Posts: 69 ■■■□□□□□□□