Options

Failed ICND1

ThunderPipeThunderPipe Member Posts: 120
I took the test last Friday. I felt pretty good going into it. I read through the book. Went through the CBT Nuggets Videos. I strongly feel that the issue was the timing. I studied pretty hard before Thanksgiving. And then took an extended break. Then, right before Christmas, I started studying hard again. And then took another break. Finally finished up and went through some exam questions and felt like I knew most of them. Between the breaks in study paired with the brief study questions, I definitely rushed it. ALSO, in a bit of STUPIDITY...I was using a FOUNDRY command on the test and couldn't figure out for the life of me why it wouldn't work.icon_rolleyes.gif I kept trying to do [SHO INT BRIEF] instead of [SHO IP INT BRIEF]....so I bombed out on one sim on the test. I did fairly well though considering. Final score was a 717 I think.

I wasn't too nervous. I normally test well. I felt that the questions were worded WAY better than the M$ tests. I'm very eager to jump back in there and retake it. But the fear of blowing another $125 slows me down...icon_wink.gif I remember the parts of the test that I needed to work on and so that's what I'll do.icon_study.gif Good luck to anyone else who is about to take it!

Comments

• Options
    laidbackfreaklaidbackfreak Member Posts: 991
    bummer dude icon_sad.gif but on the good side at least you know where you are weak so hammering those details out shouldnt be a problem. Given you were falling down on syntax I'd probably hit the labs a bit more and get some more hands on.

A useful tip I've gotten into with exams and still use irl is to tab\? the commands out.

so "show ip ?" and see what commands are available to me, it acts as a prompt and reminder and saves on little mistakes when switching between vendors.
    if I say something that can be taken one of two ways and one of them offends, I usually mean the other one :-)
  • Options