Best Lab Router for the money

CCIE Wanna BeCCIE Wanna Be Member Posts: 95 ■■□□□□□□□□
I an new to the IT field as well as the IT certification realm. I am currently studying for my CCENT and will be taking the exam very soon. What is the best and least expensive router that I can use to get me through my CCNA. It needs to have an IOS version that supports the SDM
In Progress:
WGU B.S. - I.T. - Security (and all the certs that come with it)

Comments

• tierstentiersten Member Posts: 4,505
    Best depends on your budget. A 1721 is a decent router that supports 12.4 and SDM. If you've got more $$$ then a 2611XM is nicer and supports 12.4T and voice. If you've got even more $$$ than a 3640 with a selection of NMs and WICs would be even better. If you're loaded then you'd get an 1841 or 2811.
  • Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    tiersten wrote: »
    Best depends on your budget. A 1721 is a decent router that supports 12.4 and SDM. If you've got more $$$ then a 2611XM is nicer and supports 12.4T and voice. If you've got even more $$$ than a 3640 with a selection of NMs and WICs would be even better. If you're loaded then you'd get an 1841 or 2811.

1721s are great (quit, cheap, and they support everything you need) BUT they are not rackable, which is important if you update you lab and want to go with a rack. I am thinking about my 1721s for this very reason.
  • CCIE Wanna BeCCIE Wanna Be Member Posts: 95 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thanks, I will check them out. Any idea on where the best place to shop for one is, I'm leaning towards the 2611XM
    In Progress:
    WGU B.S. - I.T. - Security (and all the certs that come with it)
    You didn't say where you are.

eBay if you've got the patience and ability to find a good deal.
  • GT-RobGT-Rob Member Posts: 1,090