Options

Cisco switch and VoIP phone system question.

PiotrIrPiotrIr Member Posts: 236
Problem which I have is very strange so I would like to ask you if it is possible.

Today I connected additional Cisco Catalyst switch to a network (they supposed to be separated but unfortunately somebody linked them) which had VoIP phone system. After this operation phones went down. Obviously I disconnected the switch and rebooted all hardware but it didn’t help.

Somebody told me that the reason of problem is I connected second switch with VLANs to the same network and Cisco Catalyst for VoIP has been wiped.

For me it sounds as absurd. I can imagine network conflict caused by second switch, but after disconnection of the device and reboot system everything should came back on line but..... unfortunately I'm not a Cisco engineer.

Could you tell me if it makes any sense please?

Comments

• Options
    kalebkspkalebksp Member Posts: 1,033 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Very possible, due to the way VTP (VLAN Trunking Protocol) works if you connect a switch with a higher VTP database version to a network it can wipe out all the existing VLANs and replace them with it's own. To fix it you need to recreate the VLANs.
  • Options
    tierstentiersten Member Posts: 4,505
    kalebksp wrote: »
    Very possible, due to the way VTP (VLAN Trunking Protocol) works if you connect a switch with a higher VTP database version to a network it can wipe out all the existing VLANs and replace them with it's own. To fix it you need to recreate the VLANs.
    What kalebksp said. The network administrator need to configure VTP correctly and make sure that the switches aren't set to automatically create trunks. Still puzzled as to why they even made that the default. Its just asking for problems like that.
  • Options
    Many thanks for your reply.