trying for CWTS

anuragaks10anuragaks10 Member Posts: 60 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi people,

I am taking CWTS exam around 20th of feb. I was hoping if you guys could show me some ropes.
1# how difficult is it ?
2# I am using sybex CWTS study guide. Will it be enough ?
3# I have no professional experience in Wireless. I am still in Uni. Does this matter for CWTS?
4# Is one month enough to prepare for it ?
5# Any extra suggestions you would like to add ?

I really want to get into the wireless field. thought starting from a entry level cert might help getting better understanding of it. Please give me some advices regarding taking this test

Thanks & Regards
fellow cert aspirer
A smooth sea never made a skilled sailor

Comments

• veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    1# how difficult is it ?
    The exam itself is entry-level and the questions are very straight-forward and not tricky. But for someone who knows little about 802.11 wireless networking it will be a very difficult exam.
    2# I am using sybex CWTS study guide. Will it be enough ?
    It depends on how much you already know about wireless networking. I really recommend getting the official study guide for any cert exams that you are preparing for.
    3# I have no professional experience in Wireless. I am still in Uni. Does this matter for CWTS?
    While hands-on experience is a big help for any exam, you can learn everything you need to know from the CWTS books and doing extra study on the Web. Where experience helps is in understanding scenario-based exam items, but you'll need that more on the CWNA exam.
    4# Is one month enough to prepare for it ?
    It depends on how much you already know and how well you study. You'll need to look through the material decide for yourself how long it might take you.
    5# Any extra suggestions you would like to add ?
    Read my CWTS blog article, as described in the previous post. ;)