from 0 to ITIL v3 foundation

smoking81smoking81 Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everybody!

I am a recent graduate in computer engineering and I am trying to enrich my CV with some certifications.. I have found several interesting graduate programs in the area of Project Management IT for which I'd like to apply. Now, my studies focused more on disciplines belonging to the field of Software Engineering than Project Management (actually, I had only a class about IS in which they gave us very basic notions about Project Management and CMMI), but I'd like to apply for these jobs anyway..
My idea is to get this certification to give myself a few chances more than other candidates.. Do you think this can be a good idea? How much effort should it take getting this certification? I read about 3 days of study.. As far as I understand, is just matter of memorizing a few notions, isn't it?

In the case, which book(s) or other (free?) resource(s) would you suggest to build a path from no knowledge of ITIL to the V3 foundation certification?

Thanks a lot for your help!
Bye,
Federico.

Comments

• eMeSeMeS Member Posts: 1,875 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Welcome to the board.

The ITIL Foundation Certificate is an entry-level certification. The intent is to demonstrate that holders of it have a baseline level of knowledge about the ITIL best practices.

The value of this certification, or any for that matter, will depend upon your local job market as well as the requirements of the jobs for which you are applying. We don't really know which job market you're in or any of the specifics of the jobs you are seeking.

IMO this is a very easy certification to achieve. However, it's sometimes difficult for people (especially in the US) to self-study for given that the terminology and concepts are sometimes difficult to understand. It's not impossible though, and many have successfully self-studied and passed this exam.