Options

What is the best use for a VG200 in a home lab?

I just got a VG200 (actually I got two of them) for free from a friend. I am presently studying for my CCNA, and hope to venture off to CVOICE and the CCVP later on. Is the VG200 useful in a home lab situation? I have seen that Mike here on techforums used one, and I know of a few others that did too, but in what capacity? They can't run CME, but function as a gateway, so do you guys just use them to simulate the PSTN cloud with a couple FXS/FXO cards in them? Where in the topology would it go? My thoughts were to simulate the cloud, or connect to the PSTN with it. Could I connect the two VG200's and simulate the PSTN cloud by connecting the FXS on one to the FXO on another and vice versa? Could I run CM or CUCM on one of my servers and actually use it as a gateway? Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am just getting into voice stuff. Also if there is any hardware I should consider getting in addition to running the VG200 in my existing lab, suggestions would also be appreciated. Thanks everyone!
Brocade: BAIS, BACNS, BAEFS Cisco: CCENT, CCNA R&S CWNP: CWTS Juniper: JNCIA-JUNOS
CompTIA: A+ (2009), Network+ (2009), A+ CE, Network+ CE, Security+ CE, CDIA+
Mikrotik: MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE VMware: VCA-DV Rackspace: CloudU

Comments

• Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    What you do with it depends on what memory, IOS, and Network Modules it has.
    Cisco VG200 Gateway - Cisco Systems

I used mine as an analog voice gateway with an NM-2V and VIC-2FXS and VIC-2FXO cards when I first got it. Since upgrading my lab, the VG200 has been dispatched to my Podunk Iowa Branch Office where it has an analog phone pluged in, and maybe a fax machine/modem and a single analog line to my PSTN cloud.