Feast or famine

7lowe7lowe Member Posts: 178 ■■■□□□□□□□
Well, for the 6 months since I graduated I've had very little luck finding a job beyond the temp help desk job I've been working. Now all of a sudden within one week I've got 3 interviews for full time jobs.

I did a phone interview tonight for a job that a friend of mine is leaving. Basically it's being "the IT guy" for 3 fairly small family companies (about 100 users and 4 servers.) They need someone pretty quick since my friend turned in her 2 week notice today and he said he had a few resumes of other people he had to call, but mine really jumped out at him. He didn't offer me the job, but it felt like if I had just said I'd do it he would've given it to me.

Tomorrow I have a face to face interview for a permanent position on a different help desk at the company I'm currently working for.

Then on Monday I have another face to face interview (had a phone interview with them yesterday) with another company about a permanent position at their help desk.

It's funny because after looking for so long I had a dream about 2 weeks ago where I was torn between 2 offers and I thought "Man! I wish that would come true!" and now it looks like a good possibility that it might.

Comments

• rsuttonrsutton Member Posts: 1,029 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Take the one that offers the quickest vertical way out of Help Desk. Good luck.
  • binarysoulbinarysoul Member Posts: 993
    Good luck, let us know how it goes. Brush up on your interview skills.
  • mikedisd2mikedisd2 Member Posts: 1,096 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I know the feeling, which is worse? icon_smile.gif
    I was demoted to helpdesk for about 3x months, looking for new jobs everywhere but nothing. As soon as I finished an interview at seemingly the perfect company, I get outsourced to a contract designing and building a fresh domain for 650 users.
  • 7lowe7lowe Member Posts: 178 ■■■□□□□□□□