Any Desktop Support tech out there?

passcert23passcert23 Member Posts: 42 ■■■□□□□□□□
I want to land a desktop support job but I have no experience. I have a degree along with A+/Network+. I know I'll be supporting Outlook, Blackberry, and user accounts. So what kind of issues do desktop support tech often get? Can you guys post some common issues and resolution so I can get a feel for the position. Thanks.

Comments

• crrussell3crrussell3 Member Posts: 561
    I would say the most common things I dealt with while in Helpdesk was the following:

1. Issues related to a User Account being locked out.
    2. Corrupt profiles
    3. Failing Hardware (harddrive being the most common).
    MCTS: Windows Vista, Configuration
    MCTS: Windows WS08 Active Directory, Configuration
  • passcert23passcert23 Member Posts: 42 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Would it relate to the password where I can simply just reset it?

2. Corrupt profiles
    So would I just use the scanpst.exe tool?
  • bryantstewartbryantstewart Member Posts: 31 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I have been doing level 2 support for about a year now and I can say that no two days are ever the same. We get everything from port speed/duplex issues to helping VIPs backup their emails. On an average day I get a few tickets for wireless issues, AD permission issues, and the occasional "I can't find the power button" calls. One thing that I will stress to you is to always take advantage of opportunities to work with other IT teams on projects. This is a great way to both learn from others and show off what you do know. Integrate Linked-In into the picture and you will gain many social networking contacts with the possibility to move up in your organization.
  • wd40wd40 Member Posts: 1,017 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Helpdesk jobs require the ability to work with people, you need good people skills and then good technical skills.

It depends on how large the place is, for us we get the following.