Finishing lab, need some insight

JonkJonk Member Posts: 39 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello all. Great site.

I have been doing a lot of research here, going through pages and pages of searches and countless topics for creating a CCNA lab. I am trying to get everything right as I feel a little blindsided to the fact that I am new to cisco equipment it sorta bothers me when I am trying to purchase everything.

Anyways, after doing research I have purchased the following:

(2) 2620XMs
(2) 2950s
(1) 2610 with a NM-4A/S to act as a frame relay switch
(2) 2524s (I read that even though the 2500s are pretty much being phased out, they are good to use in a frame relay scheme. Plus they were cheap)

As that is said and done, and the more research I am seeing I do have a question. Will I need WIC-1Ts in the 2620XMs?

I wish I had the lab book in front of me so I can go through the configuration, but I am waiting for that to come in. I just want to make sure I have everything before I get to work, and not have to wait for a part to come in to do something.

If there is anything missing from above please do let me know. Also, I know this is a n00bish question but better ask now then find out later - for the 2610 to connect to the 2500s will I be able to use a db60 to db15 or is there a module for the 2500s? Eck, I am sure after learning more I will be regretting that question!

Thanks for all the info, this site is really really useful!
-Jon
Currently :study:: A+ (self study and in class)| Network+ | CCNA (self study and in class) | A.A.S. Network Design and Administration (Almost done!)

Comments

• Mrock4Mrock4 Banned Posts: 2,359 ■■■■■■■■□□
    The 2620XM's come with a 100mb ethernet port, two WAN slots, and one NM slot. The WIC-1T's go in the WAN slots...or in an NM module if you get one (ie: NM-2E2W..has 2 ethernet ports and two WAN slots...so you could put a WIC-1T in there). I would just buy a couple of WIC-1T's, since you have a built in ethernet port.