Changing careers: turning my 15 yr hobby into a career

domerdeldomerdel Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been building PC's from the ground up for the past decade as a hobby, been around computers for over 15 yrs. I gladly carry the label of a computer nerd (both Mac and PC).

However, about 10 yrs ago I pursued the career of Web/Print/Marketing. It worked out great until about 2008, when the economy shifted. I have 10 years of in the field experience as far as marketing, but am getting to the point where I'm burned out. I'm looking towards my roots, and as I am a Mac guy, PC is where it all started for me.

I'm looking to get trained in MCSE, first because that's seems to be the biggest demand in my small city.
I see all these 14-day boot camps that have 80%+ guarantee, but cost around 7-10K. I'm wondering if they are a joke. I don't need food/lodging to be taken care of, I just need the hands-on training in a crash coarse method.

Is there a general consensus of one of the other? I need one based in Northern California, cost-efficient, and shines.

Comments

• mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    To get an 80% pass rate with people who just walked in off the street the bootcamp is probably also teaching you the answers to the exam questions -- back in school that would be called cheating. You may wind up with a certification that cost you 7-10k, but it's probably worthless when it comes to demonstrating the MCSE level knowledge and experience on a job interview.

Plus most people "work their way up" -- MCP --> MCSA --> MCSE (or the newer MCTS/MCITP) and gain experience along the way. So you'd be a questionable paper MCSE competing again people with verifiable work experience (and skills and accomplishments).