Certs help in applying for Fed jobs?

MYSTYKRACERMYSTYKRACER Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey folks, I am looking hopefully to apply to the Federal govt. in an IT support role this year. I'm just wondering if there are any folks out there who have gone this route and could offer up some experience and advice?

I am planning to finish my MCSA by March or April ( will be sitting 270/271/272 at the end of this month ) and hopefully complete CCNA by June or July. I know that may seem ambitious but I am loathing my current 12 hr solo night shift operations job so I am well motivated. icon_exclaim.gif I already have A+ & Net+.

I'm not an IT neophyte as I have 10+ yrs of IT operations experience ( seven of that was in OS/390, Z/OS mainframe ops w/ a major telecom ) and I also have B.S. in Psychology ( '94 ) and AoS in programming ( '00 ). I'm looking to parlay my experience and the certs mentioned above into a server or network admin job w/ an actual future ( operations is an utterly soul sucking environment ).

I've heard all sorts of stories about how tedious the Federal app process can be so I'm just looking for some insight and suggestions if I'm on the right path w/ these certs? I recently got these books from Amazon:

Amazon.com: The Book of U.S. Government Jobs: Where They Are, What's Available & How to Get One (10th edition) (Book of US Government Jobs) (9780943641263): Dennis V. Damp, Robert A. Juran, Salvatori Concialdi: Books

Amazon.com: Federal Resume Guidebook: Strategies for Writing a Winning Federal Electronic Resume, KSAs, and Essays, 4th Edition (9781593574260): Kathryn K. Troutman: Books

Any constructiv feedback from folks "on the inside" or going the same track would be greatly appreciated!

TIA!