Options

How did you get started?

importantbrianimportantbrian Member Posts: 48 ■■□□□□□□□□
I was wondering if any of you came from nontechnical educational backgrounds. I for instance majored in history with a minor in international relations. I would like to get into the IT field, and I was interested to see if any of you had a similar background, and if so how did you get into the field?

Comments

• Options
    skrpuneskrpune Member Posts: 1,409
    I have a geology undergrad degree. I segued into IT after a couple years of doing some quasi-IT support-related stuff at previous jobs...I got my A+ and my first IT job was a very unglamorous tech position working with a small, home-based tech support company. The owner/boss was great - he totally took me under his wing and taught me whatever he could. I spent about a year there and learned a ton. I continued to get more certs, then after a relocation, I landed a help desk position with a university - been here just under a year now.
    Currently Studying For: Nothing (cert-wise, anyway)
    Next Up: Security+, 291?

Enrolled in Masters program: CS 2011 expected completion
  • Options
    chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□
    i didnt come from any other field, i started out at the age of 14 playing with an online compuserve account lol once i found out what the internet was then i started trying to figure out how a computer works and how to build them. Delved into computer 3d graphics, then graphic design, fell out of the IT scene for 2-3 years, got back into it but started from the helpdesk enviornment, went to system support, then to network admin, now im a network engineer. I am a CCNP so i know how to build networks , im going for my ccda and ccdp to better understand how to design a better functioning network. Next will probably be wireless technology.
    Certs: CISSP, EnCE, OSCP, CRTP, eCTHPv2, eCPPT, eCIR, LFCS, CEH, SPLK-1002, SC-200, SC-300, AZ-900, AZ-500, VHL:Advanced+