How to break into Systems Administration?

smg1138smg1138 Member Posts: 94 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have about 4 years of experience doing Desktop Support for a few different organizations. I also have a Bachelors degree in Mass Communication and as far as certifications go, so far I've got the A+ and MCP. I was laid off from my last job in December and haven't had much luck finding a new one since then. Since I've had all this down time, I've been working on getting my MCSE again and just passed the 70-290 yesterday. I'd really like to move into some kind of Jr. SysAdmin role in my next job, but it seems pretty tough to break through. What is the key in moving from a support role into an admin type role? Will getting the MCSE combined with my experience in Desktop Support help? I've done a lot of administrative type work in my past jobs, but I've never had the title or the pay grade. :) Any advice from those who have made the transition would be appreciated.

Comments

• SrSysAdminSrSysAdmin Member Posts: 259
    For me it was simply a matter of knowing the right people at the right time. I'm sure there are other ways to go about getting such a job, but I've always gotten my jobs by knowing somebody.

If you don't already know somebody that can help you get into the sort of position you desire, I would recommend getting on LinkedIn and making yourself known to the sort of people who can eventually help you out.

Short of that, keep getting your certs and scour the jobs on indeed.com.
    Current Certifications:

* B.S. in Business Management
    * Sec+ 2008
    * MCSA

Currently Studying for:
    * 70-293 Maintaining a Server 2003 Network

Future Plans:

* 70-294 Planning a Server 2003 AD
    * 70-297 Designing a Server 2003 AD
    * 70-647 Server 2008
    * 70-649 MCSE to MCITP:EA
  • brad-brad- Member Posts: 1,218