Options

Microsoft's common sense tip for 70-290

ObdurateObdurate Member Posts: 108
Since I use this website many times each day, I like to give back when I can.

Since I am studying for the 70-290 exam and using Microsoft's Windows Server 2003 Environment Training Kit, I will try to post some of the "Exam Tips" given in the book.

Just a few caveats -- first I reword the tips, so any mistakes will be mine, second, I make mistakes so please feel to correct me.

I will post these as I come across them in my studies

Page 2-26

Exam Tip:

In regards to Remote Assistance: Windows 2000 ICS (Internet Connection Sharing) does NOT support UPnP (Universal Plug and Play)

This is where Microsoft gets "fuzzy": if you are running a W2K Server network and if you try to remote into a remote office running XP Pro, there are difficulties; however, there is no example of what these mysterious "difficulties" are.

~Obdurate~

Comments

• Options
    Only because I have seen this type of question before:

MMCs (Microsoft Management Console) when saved have a .msc extension. An example would be Active Directory Users and Computers which is Dsa.msc.

Dsa is Directory Services Administrator.msc

~Obdurate~

PS For those who live in the North East -- repeat after me: "I should have moved to Hawaii!"
  • Options
    A simple one for today but good to know:

In regards to DSquery commands -- Inactivity is specified in weeks, but password changes are specified in days

~Obdurate~
  • Options
    Domain Functional Levels:

There are four domain functional levels:

Windows 2000 mixed -- supports NT 4, W2K and a W2K3 Domain Controller

Windows 2000 native -- supports W2K and W2K3 Domain Controllers

Windows Server 2003 interim -- supports NT 4 and W2K3 Domain Controllers

and finally

Windows Server 2003 -- supports W2K3 Domain Controllers

I always get these questions wrong. icon_cry.gif

~Obdurate~
  • Options