ISCW Resources

yuriz43yuriz43 Member Posts: 121
Hello Everybody,

I've noticed that there is a rich amount of material on this board for the BSCI and the BCMSN. It would be great to see more study information for the ISCW and ONT, so I have taken it upon myself to compile information together for the ISCW and organize it in this thread. Since I am currently studying the ISCW, I will organize my data and labs by the order of the Official Exam Certification Guide. I will continually update this page as my studies continue, and re-organize data to make it easier to read and find information. Hopefully we can see a sticky for ISCW and ONT resources in the future!

1. DSL Technologies

The following are 3 lab scenarios for DSL. PPPoE, PPPoA, and simple RFC 1483 bridging. I will be using aal5snap at the ATM adaption layer since it is most common ( aal5mux could also be used but the configuration is slightly different ). If you neeed help setting up these topologies in GNS3, let me know.

A. PPPoE

Most common in todays deployments. It should really be called PPPoEoA since ATM is the underlying data link protocol. PPOE also has the highest amount of overhead. MTU should be adjusted for the most efficient use of bandwidth. Max MTU 1492, Optimal 1452 due to cell padding added by ATM encapsulation.

AGGREGATE ROUTER:

username cisco password 0 cisco
!
bba-group pppoe PPPoE
virtual-template 1
!
!
interface FastEthernet0/0
no ip address
duplex auto
speed auto
pppoe enable group PPPoE
!
interface Virtual-Template1
ip address 172.16.1.3 255.255.255.0
peer default ip address pool cisco
ppp authentication chap
!
ip local pool cisco 172.16.1.100 172.16.1.200

CLIENT ROUTER

no ip address
duplex auto
speed auto
pppoe enable group global
pppoe-client dial-pool-number 1
!
interface Dialer1
ip address negotiated
encapsulation ppp
dialer pool 1
ppp authentication chap callin
ppp chap hostname cisco
ppp chap password 0 cisco

B. PPPoA