Passed 101

LinuxG33kLinuxG33k Member Posts: 33 ■■□□□□□□□□
Just passed the first LPIC-1 exam (101) this morning! Woohoo! It was a tad bit harder than I thought it would be. I received a 730 out of 800, with 500 being the minimum to pass.

I started studying when the books arrived on the 24'th of Feb (1 week ago). For the most part it was review but a few commands were covered that I had never used and a few options to common commands that I had never used.

I am going to start studying for the 102 exam now and will most likely take it 3 weeks to a month from now. I can already tell that there are whole topics on 102 that I have very little exposure to. So this should be a good bit more challenging than the 101.

For anyone wondering I studied with the "LPIC-1 In Depth" book by Jang and the "LPIC-1 Study Guide 2'nd Ed" by Smith. I'm hesitant to recommend the Jang book. The questions on the test were not as easy as the ones presented in that book. Plus, the Jang book is a little on the dry side. This combined with some of the less exciting material can make it feel like you just got hit with a tranq dart.

The Sybex (Smith) book is definitely the one to get. The explanations are more comprehensive and his writing style just flows more naturally. You can tell the amount of time each author put into their respective book. There are several blatant errors in the Jang book; a couple of which were in the assessment questions!

I see users in the forum ask what a persons occupation and years of experience are. So I will include that I am a Linux Admin within the hosting industry and have approximately 3 years OTJ experience with Linux Administration.

Comments

• brucewhunterbrucewhunter Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□

Congrats - I'm going on this adventure in two weeks as well. Have you decided on any material for 102?
  • NightShade03NightShade03 Member Posts: 1,383 ■■■■■■■□□□