CISM Certification Requirement

leostarleostar Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Guys,

I need some help here for my CISM certification requirements. I am trying to appear CISM exam this June 2010 and have a question in mind. Senior guys please help me.

I have more than 14 years of experience in IT System Administrator/Support experience, Worked as a IT Manager for 3 years and System Admin as a more than 8 years. Question: Is my experience is sufficient to qualify for Certification if I sit on Exam in June 2010. Or do I need specific title in my job role to gain the certification.

Thanks,
LeoStar

Comments

• astorrsastorrs Member Posts: 3,139 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Requirements for CISM Certification

4) Work experience in the field of information security

Submit verified evidence of a minimum of five years of information security work experience, with a minimum of three years of information security management work experience in three or more of the job practice analysis areas. The work experience must be gained within the ten-year period preceding the application date for certification or within five years from the date of originally passing the exam.

Experience Substitutions

The following security-related certifications and information systems management experience can be used to satisfy the indicated amount of information security work experience.
    • Two Years:
      • Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) in good standing
      • Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) in good standing
      • Post-graduate degree in information security or a related field (e.g., business administration, information systems, information assurance)
    • One Year:
      • One full year of information systems management experience
      • One full year of general security management experience