Starting the CCENT

importantbrianimportantbrian Member Posts: 48 ■■□□□□□□□□
Thank you to everyone who has given me advise on my other posts. I have decided to take on the CCENT as my first cert. After listening to your opinions and doing some research it seems to me like this is the most valuable of the entry level certs. I plan to continue on to the CCNA after completing it and then moving into some Microsoft exams to be well rounded.

I am planning to use this thread to post my progress, and keep me motivated during the process. I have started to compile my training resources. I already have the Odom book and plan to purchase the Lammel book as well. I have heard good things about CBTNuggets and have enjoyed the free videos I have watched, but at $299 just for the ccent pack they are way out of my price range.

I really want to be able to put my hands on some Cisco equipment while I'm studying. I'm very much a hands on kind of learner, and getting the equipment gets me excited about studying. I don't have a lot of money to spend here though. I'd really like to keep it under $100. If anyone has suggestions on a good router or two that would let me practice some of the material for that price range let me know. Also, if anyone has any other suggestions for training material or the best study methods let me know.

Again, I appreciate all the advice and I am looking forward to learning the ccent material.

Comments

• notgoing2failnotgoing2fail Member Posts: 1,138
    Good luck, as always, eBay is probably your best choice. I'm a hands on guy also and I just don't like simulators. As soon as you want to get creative, the commands don't exist!

You can really get some cheap routers/switches but I don't know if $100 is going to be enough. You can get some routers for $20-30 bucks but you'll need a couple.