Certification musings

TurgonTurgon Banned Posts: 6,308 ■■■■■■■■■□
Not particularly important but in discussion with our time served systems architect we briefly moved on to MS certification in general. Two points he raised. One - little incentive to keep up with all the tests and two..he's seen too many Microsoft qualified people who when asked to partition a disk and install windows needed quite a lot of help to do that.

Interesting. I suppose some things haven't changed since the NT days then. It seems there is still a hands on gap. I can only speak for MCSE NT 4.0. When I studied that back in the day, pre VMWare and accessible affordable home labs (i.e you had an NT domain at work you couldnt screw around with and you certainly didnt have access to NT at home to play with), you had to compensate by a lot of book reading and careful analysis of what was in production at work. In the books there was a lot of stuff about ARC paths and RAID and disks and what have you but the basics of getting the OS installed on a machine were poorly roadmapped in the books. Essentially it was you need this minimum spec for a machine to run NT, put CD in drive you will need minimum partition size x, make it PDC give it domain name..etc etc.

Many contract server engineers wiped out installations due to bad installation process and had to start all over again.

The hassles of setting up partitions and hardware RAID (Optional but often used with Compaqs) were avoided in the books as was proprietary smartstart CD use, as was SCSI driver options when installing NT. But it was alluded to if you studied the material hard. Many didnt.

I suppose its just testiment to people dumping the tests without having the hardcore server installation experience really. For those lucky enough to take the Compaq ASE tests back in the day in the late nineties at least the baremetal config of server hardware and OS installation and network drivers and RAID was covered. The ASE has since gone.