Suggestions on getting restarted please

TenisuBakaTenisuBaka Member Posts: 46 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

Couple of background details before I get into the main question. I used to be a data tech 10 years ago, where I specialized in fiber, atm, dsl, and basic phone service. I did this work for 4 years during which time I got A+, Network+, and CCNA.

Then I came to Japan and basically had to start life all over again. I didn't work for the first few years, just studying Japanese. Then decided to give translation a try. Didn't really work out, so got back into IT from 2005, but my job now is not network-specific, more systems admin.

Anyway, in 2007, I went Cisco crazy because I wanted to get back into networking. I redid CCNA, then did CCDA, then wanted to do CCNP and CCVP at the same time, so I finished BSCI, BCMSN, and CVOICE.

I was ready to start QOS next, but then the economy got bad, problems at work and home. I don't really get to work with the Cisco stuff much at my current job, so I lost motivation to continue studying when I realized I wasn't likely to be changing jobs at that point.

But now it's 2010, all that work I did in 2007 will expire in 6 months and I think I am more interested in that TSHOOT than ONT and ISCW anyway. So, I ordered and received the 2 cisco press books for that exam.

So, here is the question. How would you guys suggest I actually prepare for this exam/get reacquainted?? I really don't want to reread all the CCNA books, plus BSCI and BCMSN books, plus whatever extra materials I would need to study for whatever new stuff is in ROUTE and SWITCH. I will if that is the only feasible gameplan, but hoping it wasn't, thus this thread.

Just curious to see what any of you guys have to say about it.
Thanks

Comments

• peanutnogginpeanutnoggin Member Posts: 1,096 ■■■□□□□□□□