BGP What to ask...

GogousaGogousa Member Posts: 68 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello, I need your expert opinion.
Situation: we have only one internet provider, we have our own AS and our own public networks. Our provider is giving us a router with a full BGP table, we have a router with IBGP and we are publishing some of our public networks with this router and others are getting published from the providers router.
We are planning to get a second provider and we want to take full control of our networks and be able to publish and use the two providers as we please (load balancing, symmetry, redundancy).
Im new to BGP, so to me is a new world. Im reading the cisco book and trying to understand.

We are in the process of getting the proposals from the second provider, so my question is, should I ask for anything special to the providers to be able to do what we want? (like I already asked, that the router they put has to handle a full route bgp). Or something like no restrictions on some protocol or filters?. I want to get into the contract with the provider anything we need to be able to do anything we might want regarding our networks and how the internet see us.

And feel free to advise in general if you want, like what is the best topology or anything you think is important. For now the two providers will be installed in one site.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod