Suggestions on recruiters in Chicago area

FlyingputFlyingput Member Posts: 114 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have done some search (indeed, dice, careerbuilder...etc) but only got about 10 positions related to CCVP with base salary >= $90K. I excluded CCNP openings as I am not that interested. Submitted my resume a week ago. Now there's only 1 response for a phone interview scheduled next week.

Kind of disappointed. My current job is OK, just low pay (less than $80K). Can't afford of losing it in this economy so I don't want to post my resume on monster...(Company HR may find it as I am the only Cisco Telephony Engineer). Maybe the effective way is to go through recruiters? I have very little experience on recruiters. Need your help/advice/sharing on recruiters in Chicago area! I am all ears.

Or am I asking too much in Chicago?

Comments

• FlyingputFlyingput Member Posts: 114 ■■■□□□□□□□
    OK. Looks like all guys are out of town for the spring break? icon_cool.gif I'd like to update this thread on a weekly basis. Hope it's OK. If not, BM pls tell me and I will shut up.

The past week was a little encouraging. I talked with the hiring manager for almost an hour over phone. Then their HR called me for the face-to-face interview.

Right after this conversation, another company HR called me directly for a similar position. I submitted my resume more than a week ago though. I missed the call and couldn't reach her on Friday. I will follow up on Monday.
    OK. Let me continue this "spam" thread. :D

The 2nd company is already on CCM so their questions were more specific and deep. The pleasant phone interview lasted almost an hour. At the end, the hiring manager gave me some positive feedbacks (excellent match with their requirements) and scheduled the on-site right away.

I am still in touch with several other recruiters. Let's see what they can bring next week.

The job hunting started on 3/14/2010 with 13 resumes submitted. So far both phone interviews were successful.