Questions Regarding The CCNP

teksource1984teksource1984 Member Posts: 100
Fellas,

I'm currently pursuing my CCNA and wanted to ask a few questions about the CCNP certification. I will deeply appreciate your feedback since im really new to the Cisco program.

-Can someone without any work experience on Cisco routers or switches sit in for the CCNP exams ? if yes, how difficult will the content be ?

-Is the CCNP certification regarded as a tough or valuable cert to have ? how do employers view it ?

- I heard Cisco will be changing the 4 part sequence of the exam to 3 in a few months, is this true ? if so, how will this be better?

-If I become CCNP certified in a couple of years will my CCNA also be renewed ?

-Will a CCNP combined with an MCITP cert look good on my resume ?

Comments

• jeanathanjeanathan Member Posts: 163
    -Can someone without any work experience on Cisco routers or switches sit in for the CCNP exams ? if yes, how difficult will the content be ?

I have only some basic IPSec tunnel experience from work, I have never had a job doing cisco networking. I feel as though the CCNP material is as difficult as anything in college, including data structures in c++. You don't need work experience to succeed, but I would say you need hands on experience in the form of a lab.
    - I heard Cisco will be changing the 4 part sequence of the exam to 3 in a few months, is this true ? if so, how will this be better?

Yes. I think that the addition of the TSHOOT exam makes the CCNP program far stronger. I have been reviewing materials for the TSHOOT and it is a unique set of information based on real world troubleshooting.

Yes. Every time I have passed a CCNP exam my CCNA expatriation date changes to 3 years from the date of passing an NP level exam.

The other questions I don't know about.
    Struggling through the re-certification process after 2 years of no OJT for the CCNP.
  • lordylordy Member Posts: 632 ■■■■□□□□□□