Options

Jn0-202

thisisalex02thisisalex02 Member Posts: 136
So im studying for my 202 and i realized there isnt much books out there for the updated exam. ive read that theres not a lot of difference between the two, but i cant even find a book thats written specifially for the 202. What are some good titles? I have all the free books off the site, but it would be nice to have some hard copies so that i dont go blind in front of this screen.

Alex
Switches are bridges on steroids!

Comments

• Options
    zoidbergzoidberg Member Posts: 365 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Hey Alex,

It is disappointing that there are no new Service Provider books and that the only option for most is to use the pdfs. I feel the same way about sitting and reading on a screen all day, and that's why I don't lend out my hard copies of those Sybex books anymore. Almost lost my JNCIS book, and that book is fantastic! Despite their age, I still say those Sybex books are great. It would be great if those books were reprinted or refreshed. Hopefully one of these days....

As far as structured learning with a goal towards Juniper certification for the SP track, those Sybex books are the way to go. Or, take the classes or find a way to get your hands on the student guides. (Enterprise Routing student guides can be found at juniper.net/fasttrack , which won't get you everything you need for Service Provider, but will give you a start?)

Another good JUNOS book is the Cookbook. Depending on your level of networking background, that may be all you really need to get started. You say the CCIE-SP will be yours :) so if you're nearing the CCIE-SP level, you shouldn't need to sit and spend all day reading about OSPF stub areas or what a BGP route-reflector does. If you have the theory, use the Cookbook to bridge the command syntax gap.