Help me understand Cisco's cert rules

TenisuBakaTenisuBaka Member Posts: 46 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I think the severity of my miscalculation is really hitting me now. Please clarify and help me sort out my situation.

I mentioned before that I went Cisco cert crazy in 2007, but stopped for a few years. My error is that I thought I had 3 years from the date of the last test passed to finish a certification. So I passed BSCI, BCMSN, and CVOICE 642-632 (5.0 I think).

My BSCI is the first xP test I took, which expires this June 12. I have since gotten busy with TSHOOT, and if I am lucky, I will pass before June and finish my CCNP.

....... But, what about the other certs?
If I do pass TSHOOT and get the CCNP, will the June 12 date for BSCI still apply for CCDP, and CCIP? In other words, am I going to have to end up doing ROUTE anyway if I want to pursue those?

Also, there wasn't a CCNA Voice when I started studying for it in 2007. CCNA Voice is a requirement to pursue CCVP, right? Yet, my understanding is that getting the CCNA Voice is just passing CVOICE, so does that mean I have CCNA VOICE, or it only applies to the new 642-636 (6.0) version?

Anyway, the 3-year anniversary for when I passed CVOICE is August or September, so I really doubt I would be able to finish CCVP by then anyway.

So basically, even if I do manage to pass TSHOOT before June 12 and get CCNP, I basically have to start over back at zero for any other xP certs, is this understanding correct?

Man, I am so upset with myself for letting this happen.

Comments

• ColbyGColbyG Member Posts: 1,264
    Your exam is valid for three years after you pass it.

To get the CCNA: Voice with CVOICE, you have to take the new version, from my understanding.
  • miller811miller811 Member Posts: 897