Options

Is there any hope for people like me?

smellyguy_philipsmellyguy_philip Member Posts: 30 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi,

I was hoping if you guys could give me any advice to my career or whatsover. I think my situation would be worse that many people out there. It seems impossible for me to get a job at all! Here is my background, and my plans before trying enter IT.

I am 23 and I am a VISA student in Canada. I already have a degree in Computer Science and currently doing my Masters degree in Management Science, graduating in December.

My plan is to try my best to get as many certs and experience before I graduate. So far, I plan to at least get A+ and Net+ before I graduate. The big problem is I am not a Canadian citizen so basically I cannot do any work that involves some kind of salary. So basically I cannot apply for any part-time job to get experience.

I guess this leaves me with volunteering. I am tried for several months and did not have luck. I tried in many charity organizations and most of them tell me they have enough people! I recently interviewed about a Client Support position, hoping I would at least get some experience in the field. And after I did the police check, they told me the position was taken! They asked me if I would like to deliver food!

I even looked around in my schools' department, and I met a guy at RIM(research in motion). I expressed my passion in volunteering, but all of the time, I either got turned down or i got no response. At some time, people seem to prefer to employ a paid person rather than a volunteer.

I really want to stay in Canada. But the big problem is after I graduate I only have 90 days to look for a job. I would be kicked out of Canada after that! It seems to me that it is quite impossible for VISA students like me to get a job ina foreign country. I really hope to stay here. But I know many friends of mine who graduated last and still don't have any job now, and they are going to be kicked out of Canada soon!