Dallas/Ft. Worth: How is the job market?

MeanDrunkR2D2MeanDrunkR2D2 Member Posts: 899 ■■■■■□□□□□
And would it be worth relocating to that area for my career? My fiance and I are planning on getting married next spring, but we are debating on moving away from Kansas City and to the DFW area because we would actually have some family nearby. Here, we are at least 5 hours away from any family and the thoughts that eventually we'd want to have kids we'd appreciate having one of our parents nearby. The other area we've lightly talked about was the Orlando area, but we both have reservations about living in Florida and aren't excited about that. Another is Chicago, but it's fairly expensive to live there and neither of our parents live there any longer (although my fiance has some family still there).

Basically I have 4 years of IT support experience working help desk, desktop support, database support and imaging support. A little server administration, but was very limited at my last position that did that. After being laid off a year ago (on April Fools day, no less) I have worked 2 jobs, one being a seasonal tier 1 help desk (pure hell) in a large corporate environment, and now for a local company that is a authorized repair depot where I do break/fix on laptops non-stop all day, everyday. As you would expect, it's boring and gets monotonous quickly. Not to mention the pay is far less than I was making before I was laid off, but was better than no unemployment (which was getting close to running out). I've been at this position for over 4 months now and have been looking the whole time I've been there for a better career move to get me where I want to be, which is either server or network admin. Lately, the job market seems to have dried up for someone with my experience and have been either lowballed severely for jobs, or they knock me for not having 5 years of experience.