CCNA Path

Super99Super99 Member Posts: 274
Hi room.
I'm thinking about starting my CCNA.
I've heard that there are two different paths for CCNA????.....I don't know if this is still accurate information.

I heard that there is 1 test for the CCNA or one may chose to take 2 tests?

Whats the benifit of the paths?

Comments

• Dilbert65Dilbert65 Member Posts: 73 ■■□□□□□□□□
    You can the Full CCNA test or split them. I found that splitting them into two test cut down on all the information I needed to learn per test. Plus for me it helped to spend more time learning just the ICDN1 and really knowing it. Plus once I had the ICDN 1 under my belt I felt more confident going onto the ICDN2.
  • peanutnogginpeanutnoggin Member Posts: 1,096 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Super99,

Seeing that you have multiple certs, you don't appear to be a complete noob to the IT field. With that being said, I would recommend the 1 test route. The ICND1 (in my opinion) is if you're new to Cisco equipment and especially if you're new to the networking field. I went the 1 test route when I got started and that was without ever working with Cisco gear. I did however have about 7 years in IT (primarily Windows Server Administration) before I took on the CCNA. I hope this helps.

-Peanut
    We cannot have a superior democracy with an inferior education system!

-Mayor Cory Booker
  • mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    There used to be a cost savings taking the single exam over the two exam option -- and there still is, but now it's only the cost of gas for the 2nd trip to the exam center (and wear and tear on your car, the travel time, etc).

On the Plus side if you take the 2 exam option you earn the CCENT Certification for passing the ICND1 exam -- and you get twice the opportunities to Celebrate when you pass the ICND1/ICND2 exams.

The two exam options lets you break up the single CCNA exam into two smaller "study chunks" -- which can be helpful if you're a Networking noob.