Two job offers.... tough decision.

Dryst999Dryst999 Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
Quick little back story about me is that I graduated with my bachelors in M.I.S. last year and have been working help desk for a healthcare IT company for around 7 months now being GROSSLY underpaid (10k less than the next lowest guy at help desk). I started sending my resume out two weeks ago and have already gotten interviews with two different companies last week and both of them gave me an offer yesterday afternoon.

The first company is working at the home corporate office of a huge brokerage firm, I would be working on a help desk staff of 20 and the entire IT staff there is around 130. The schedule will fluctuate anywhere from 5:30am to 7pm, but only 40hrs/week. The guy I interviewed with had that "elitist" attitude and kinda scared the **** out of me saying stuff like "the 5 minutes they are on the phone with you they could be losing 1million dollars or more". Plenty of room to move up.

Second company is at the home corporate office of one of the largest real estate companies in the US. However being a real estate company they don't have a huge need for IT, there's a 12 person IT staff that does everything for the state i'm in. I would be THE HELPDESK, doing all the desktop support for around 400 computers by myself. It's apparently easy work though and the system admin who is doing it now while they are looking for a replacement said the call volume is low. The schedule is 8:30-5:30 m-f with no fluctuation or overtime ever. The two guys I interviewed with are super laid back, i've never had such a comfortable interview before.

I'm not sure which one to take, job1 has a worse quality of life, more career advancement potential, and a 5k higher salary than job 2.

Job 2 will have a lower salary (still 8k more than what i'm making now), a near perfect schedule, and much less work stress.