Best track to get Cert

Darian929Darian929 Member Posts: 197
Hello guys,

I am currently indecisive on how to start studying for my ccent/ccna. I only have the A+ but have about 1 year networking experience and really don't want to waste my time on the Network+. I currently work at a home and we do not have cisco switches which I can train with or get familiar with. we have Novell instead :\ so my question is how would you go about to study for this exam without forgetting.. i guess what im really asking is im afraid of reading and watching videos to get ready for the exam and since i have no real hands on experience then forget it if i stop reading or just forget the material little by little. I have some videos and I have the ccent book I bought. you guys recommend buying a couple of switches/routers to train with?

Comments

• jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    When I don't have the proper equipment, I just study the material over and over. I took the CCENT exam and I didn't have all the up todate gear. If you know the material really well, its harder to forget. If you have the money to buy real equiment, go for it!!! Check out ciscokits. They seem to have some good gear on their site.
    Booya!!
    WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |
    *****You can fail a test a bunch of times but what matters is that if you fail to give up or not*****
  • peanutnogginpeanutnoggin Member Posts: 1,096 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I definitely recommend getting equipment. I would personally tell you to get equipment from eBay as opposed to CiscoKits. You can save more money by piecing together your lab.
    I am currently indecisive on how to start studying for my ccent/ccna. I only have the A+ but have about 1 year networking experience and really don't want to waste my time on the Network+.