Western Governors University Questions and Answers / Threads related to WGU

Comments

• fly351fly351 Member Posts: 360
    Now about my experience so far. I have an AS degree in Networking Services Technology from the local community college and my certifications on the left. I was told that if you have an AA or AS degree from an accredited school, then they will automatically waive all the lower level general classes (math, english, sciences, etc.) regardless if you've actually taken them or not.

wow.. nice, I really hope they do that for mine but it is an A.A.S. in "Computer and Information Science/Networking". I never knew that an A.A.S. wasn't "valued" as much as an A.S. or A.A. I am going to post the degree I have below. If you don't care, can you tell me how it compares to yours?

Walters State Community College

General Education Requirements: 16 hours

Communication
    Composition 1 ...... 3 hours
    Intro to Speech ...... 3 hours
    Humanities/Fine Arts (any approved): 3 hours

Behavioral/Social Science
    Principles of Economics 1 ...... 4 hours
    Mathematics (any approved @ college level): 3 hours

Area of Emphasis
    : 44 hours

Account 1 ...... 3 hours
    Computers 101 ...... 3 hours
    Intro to VB.NET ...... 3 hours
    VB.NET ...... 3 hours
    Essentials of InfoSec ...... 3 hours (not there when I graduated, probably replaced a networking course)
    DB Management ...... 3 hours
    Cisco Networking Fundamentals ...... 3 hours
    Cisco Routing Protocols/Concepts ...... 3 hours
    Cisco LAN Switching and Wireless ...... 3 hours
    Cisco Accessing the WAN ...... 3 hours
    Hardware Support (A+) ...... 3 hours
    MS Windows Server ...... 3 hours
    MS Windows Network Infrastructure ...... 3 hours
    MS Windows AD ...... 3 hours

Since then, I have taken American History 1 & 2, Intro to Psyc, and Theater (lame icon_rolleyes.gif), from a university.