Question about non IT related degrees

N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
I have been in IT for 5+ years and have accumulated a few certifications along with way, however my BS is in Hospitality Management. My degree is from a solid University in the states, which is regionally accredited. With that being said, I will admit that I am insecure since this major has nothing to do with business or IT, yet I find myself in an environment that encompass both of these very heavily.

My question to the board is, should I worry about this or should I stop thinking about it? Would you recommend getting another bachelors or even a master degree? Would even getting an associate degree in accounting or finance be a wise idea?

Just wanted to know your thoughts and ideas.

Forgive me for spelling errors I have a lot of people talking around me at the moment. :)

Kind Regards,

Patrick

Comments

• brianeaglesfanbrianeaglesfan Member Posts: 130
    Honestly for most positions it's not going to matter. Probably half of all IT workers today either lack a degree at all or have one with a non-IT major, and depending on what your goals are it may not matter going into the future. If you're shooting for management you could always go for an MBA with an IT focus or maybe pursue an MS in MIS or IT. Otherwise for many companies it's more about your experience than your paper. Even those who request a BS in CS or IT usually will take equivalent experience.
    Complete: MSMIS, MBA, EPIC certified
    In progress: CPHIMS, CAPM
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Senior Member Posts: 0 ■■■■□□□□□□