Starting the Certification Journey!!

Furious GeorgeFurious George Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello all!! This is my first time here and its a great thing to see.

I am an It Consultant as of now working for a consulting firm in Philadelphia. I have the practical knowledge and pretty solid Server/desktop experience. I am thinking of taking some exams just to get some certifications on paper. I would like to get some input as to which courses to take first.

I was thinking of the A+ then going the MCSE route. I don't think i will be messing with Cisco. What study Guides do you recommend? If there is anything that you think this certification n00b needs please advise. Thank you for your time and I look forward to be an active member of this great community.

Comments

• keatronkeatron Member Posts: 1,213 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Well for the A+ exams, the Mike Myers book is pretty good. As for the MCSE track you should ask which material per exam, because honestly I've found that sometimes the best study material vendor is dependent on the exam you're taking, however, Transcender is usually considered the most solid amongst most of us.

I am thinking of taking some exams just to get some certifications on paper.

Really? well get ready to have your eyes opened, because I'll bet you are going to learn some things you didn't know. Not only that, you'll probably learn some things you'll start implementing as soon as you learn them
  • Gabe7055Gabe7055 Member Posts: 158
    For A+ Keatron is right Mike Myers has the best books you can buy. For MCSE usually MS Press is a good bet but some of there books (70-284) are really bad and should be avoided. In the cases where MS Press can't provide you with what you need I would suggest Sybrex.

For practice exams you can't beat Transcender but man are they expensive
  • strauchrstrauchr Member Posts: 528 ■■■□□□□□□□