Self Esteem is Destroyed

Sanger80Sanger80 Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have been working in the field since 1995. Got my NT 4.0 MCSE in 1999 and then was too busy working to worry about updating my certifications (should have made the time.) Well, I am in between contracts right now so I decided that it would be a good idea to update my MCSE to 2003. Figured it would be two fold for my resume and also to refresh my brain on all the subject matter. Well, I started with the 70-270. I didn't study a whole lot for it, but I managed to pass. Then I took the 70-290. For this test I studied my brains out for it. I spent about two weeks. Remember, I am not working right now so I get up in the morning and study all day like it's my job. Anyways, I took 70-290 and passed it with a 885. I felt pretty good when I left and my confidence was sky high.

Most of my recent professional work has been related to managing the desktop environment. I use GPOs to manage user and computer settings, WSUS to get updates out, package bad MSIs using Installshield Admin Studio to make them into MSIs that AD likes. Also create images and pass them on to junior techs who use them to make machines. I have gone out and performed disaster recovery for clients, installed and configured servers to perform a wide range of duties.........you get the picture. So, I never really messed with DNS in the field. It was either already configured, or somebody elses responsibility.

Enter the 70-291. I am psyched up to study the material. It's always fun to learn things that you are not 100% on. I get an exam cram book, study the material, set up a lab and go to work. I study about three weeks, 8 hours a day. I am passing measure up practice tests with 100% and all the transcender tests with a 100%. I feel pretty good, so I schedule the test. I complete the test with an hour and a half left and don't bother to review any questions. I am THAT confident that I passed. Wrong. I got a 678.