Scja

Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
Greetings All:

A few quarters from now I will have to take a set of classes (Java I+II and C++ III). I want to go into the classes with a firm foundation of Java and C++. I was wondering if studying for the SCJA would help me or is "too basic". I have read many places that this cert is pretty easy. I figure I would grab a C++ in an hour a day and Head first Java and study for the SCJA and C++ as a whole. Is the cert worth obtaining? It is not required for my program but I always want to find ways to make my CV shine (and seeing how my degree is only going to be an A.A.S I will have to do several things). I should note that I do NOT want to be a developer NOR do I have an extreme interest in software development. I am doing this in route to a BSCS.

Any comments are welcomed.

Comments

• Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Hmmm.... Well I guess this cert isn't that popular. Well can anyone who has taken the test speak about its difficult? (without breaking NDA)
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    knwminus wrote: »
    I should note that I do NOT want to be a developer NOR do I have an extreme interest in software development. I am doing this in route to a BSCS.
    You are getting a CS degree and don't want to be a programmer? What are your career goals? Have you looked at CIS degrees instead?

And if you only want the basics of programming in Java, the SCJA will be more than enough for you. The SCJP is definitely for programmers.
    JDMurray wrote: »
    You are getting a CS degree and don't want to be a programmer? What are your career goals? Have you looked at CIS degrees instead?

And if you only want the basics of programming in Java, the SCJA will be more than enough for you. The SCJP is definitely for programmers.