Where to start (newbie) (Please help)

paulntysmompaulntysmom Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Ok I don't have any computer education behind me (self taught) nor do I have certifications, so finding a job in the computer field is really hard. I have fixed many of friends, family and etc computers and would like to pursue my passion for computers so I can actually obtain a job doing what I love. My problem is where to start with the certifications.

I have signed up for the associates degree in information technology for the fall of 2005 but was thinking about becoming certified while going through school.

What certifications should I start with? Do I actually have to have work experience to obtain these certifications or can anyone do it?
How much does each test cost (average) and what would be the best materials to obtain for passing the test. I am a newbie to all this so any information would be helpful.

I was thinking of starting off on A+ Os and Core and then moving on to MCDST Is that the right route to go?

Please help :) I would appreciate you time :)
Colleen (Mom to paul n ty)

Comments

• determinedgermandeterminedgerman Member Posts: 168
    hey paulntysmom,

Welcome to Techexams.net

I guess where you start with certifications really depends where you want to go later. It is always a good idea to start with the CompTia A+, Network+ and Security+ certifications. Those are for life and you will never need to recertify. CCNA is always a good idea as well and then depending on which field you want go to from there. Security and Wireless are the fields to be in right now to get a job. A good college education is definately helpful.

Look through some of the forums on this site about the different certifications and read through the threads. It is very helpful to be a member here. When I went for my Network+ certification this site and its studyguides help me to obtain the cert. You can also look at the certification vendors websites like CompTia and Cisco.