Breaking into the field with no experience but a masters degree?

RogeRoge Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I don't have any experience in IT, and my undergraduate degree is not in IT or anything business related.

I'm wondering how difficult it would be to break into the IT field with a Masters degree in Information Technology Management?

Comments

• earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    First off wlecome to TE!
    Do you already have a masters or are you currently working on one?
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • RogeRoge Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I do not have a masters degree ATM, just a BA.

Assuming I go for a Masters in Management of Information Technology (or even if I go with a general MBA), how difficult would it be to get into IT in the private sector even though I have zero experience?

Presently I work in law enforcement (not a police officer) and I'm also interested in getting an IT position within the police department or perhaps even with IT department of the city that employs me.
  • ipconfig.allipconfig.all Banned Posts: 428
    You getting a masters without any experience to back that up will over qualify you and slim your chances. Your best bet is to get some experience in the IT industry and then go for further education, so you can find out more about the IT industry and find out what you want to be or do.
  • brianeaglesfanbrianeaglesfan Member Posts: 130
    Having an IT-related degree is not a prereq to working in the industry, and having an accredited degree in anything gives you a leg up against entry-level candidates who lack one. Honestly, I'd put my efforts towards pursuing some certs and then start looking for that first opportunity. Just realize you'll have to start out at the bottom like 99.9% of the other stiffs in the industry had to. Unless your dad / uncle / friend owns the company. Good luck!
    Complete: MSMIS, MBA, EPIC certified