7yrs in IT, Can't find a JOB. PLEASE HELP!!!

FHERNANDEZFHERNANDEZ Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Everyone,
Please guide me in the right direction icon_exclaim.gif

I am currently unemployed for close to a year now and desperate to get back in the field. have had no luck in finding contract/full time employment.

I have 7 years of experience in the IT field.
I held roles in:
  • Desktop Support (1 year)
  • Software QA Analyst (3 years)
  • Technical Project Lead (3 years )
My background consists of: managing resources, QA, training staff, and being the hands on subject matter expert / technical lead for HW/SW upgrade projects (Windows 2000/XP/Vista OS environments). I also have basic networking experience.

I have an Associate's degree in Computer Support and network administration but NO CERTIFICATIONS icon_cry.gif

I have started self training on the comptia triple certifications (a+, net+, sec+) in order to get some certifications on my resume.

Also planning on taking a college course in order to obtain the "PMI CAPM Certification" (I would like the PMP but I do not meet the prerequisites).

1. Am I on the right track? if not... What certifications should I get based on my experiences to put me in the best place to continue my career?
  2. Will the certifications that I am training on, going to help me get back on the field in a good technical, lead or management role in IT.
PLEASE HELP! icon_rolleyes.gif

Comments

• brianeaglesfanbrianeaglesfan Member Posts: 130
    All of the CompTIA certs are considered to be entry-level, as is the CAPM. That's not to say though that they don't have value, and given that they lose their lifetime status after this year it may be worthwhile to pursue them. Given your experience I'd afterwards probably shoot for a mid to senior-level MS cert, like MCSA, MCSE, MCITP:SA, or MCITP:EA, if that's the path you want to continue down.