Options

DNS zone confusion

phoeneousphoeneous Member Posts: 2,333 ■■■■■■■□□□
Im confused...

We have two offices (Nevada and California) connected by a wan link but are part of the same domain. Each office has a dc and each dc is also dns. In dns we have two forward lookup AD-integrated zones, company.com and California. Why are all the host records in the company.com zone and none of the records of hosts physically located in California, in the California zone? The only records that I see in the California zone are NS records for both dc's and the SOA record for the dc physically located in California. This dns infrastructure was created years before I got here and Im still learning dns but shouldn't the hosts physically located in California have their records in the California zone?

Also, the forwarders for the California dns is the IP of the other dns server in Nevada. Shouldnt the forwarders for the California dns be pointing to their ISP's public dns servers? Thats how the Nevada dns is configured.

[/still learning]

Comments

• Options
    sidsanderssidsanders Member Posts: 217 ■■■□□□□□□□
    are you a single forest - single domain AD shop? if so , is there a need for the (mostly) empty dns domain? the cali zone may not be set for dynamic updates, and none of the hosts in cali may be configured to use the local dns server. do you want to use the cali dns domain? are the dns servers secondary servers for each others zones, do they need to be? lots more that could be asked here...
    GO TEAM VENTURE!!!!
  • Options
    sidsanders wrote: »
    are you a single forest - single domain AD shop? if so , is there a need for the (mostly) empty dns domain? the cali zone may not be set for dynamic updates, and none of the hosts in cali may be configured to use the local dns server. do you want to use the cali dns domain? are the dns servers secondary servers for each others zones, do they need to be? lots more that could be asked here...