College Graduate Advice

Laughin9m4nLaughin9m4n Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Members of Tech Exams.net,
I just graduated college with a bachelors degree in Computer Engineering Technology (too broad) and I want to focus my career on IT while keeping the engineering on the side. I was wondering if I have a bachelors degree is it still worth it to take the A+? or should I just move on? I was supposed to take it a while back but was worried I didn't study enough and kinda started slacking. My friend (he has way more work experience then me) who has the A+ says it is not worth it but I still think it will help me prove my knowledge and get my foot in the door. I only have two years experience as a technical support intern in a school (it got really mundane and redundant after 6 mo) and some side jobs. I really don't know what I want to be yet IT career wise but I know I don't want to waste any more time learning outdated information or stuff that the industry will probably never use again. Any thoughts and opinions would be much appreciated.
Thanks,
Laughin9M4N
Also anyone used this site?
2 VUE CompTIA A+ Exam Test Vouchers CompTIA Bundle

Comments

• ipconfig.allipconfig.all Banned Posts: 428
    Comptia stuff is what most people study to get their foots in the door because Comptia stuff are entry level stuff that will give you a good understandings of the fundamentals stuff in I.T. A+ is good if you want to be a Tech it will teach you how to break/Fix PCs etc. Expereince is what is important in I.T so try and get some work experience.
  • dancreaneydancreaney Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I'd say the A+ is valuable. It's a great foundation to build your knowledge on. It's readily dismissed as being 'too basic' but I find it hard to take a person seriously who wants to be a good tech but can't be bothered starting at the beginning. Even if you have a few years of experience, it never hurts to brush up on the fundamentals.