What to do??

DanielthemanDanieltheman Member Posts: 67 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, I'm thinking of studying for the Security+ exam before the lifetime runs out at the end of this year. I went into my community college and spoke with one of the It directors and told her that I had no experience but had my A+ and Net+ exams which i studied for on my own. I told her if there was a class that they offered in which i could get some hands on because i am having trouble for a job because of my lack of experience. She told me that another certification would only hurt me because they would think im a paper chaser...She then refered me to a class called Computer Security and Forensic Investigation, my question is if i get the Sec+ cert will that hurt me toward getting a job or will it do better for me even though i dont have any job experience in IT?

Thanks for you help.

Comments

• veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    The simple answer is, no! Get it while it's lifetime, it's not like you have to put it on your resume if you don't want to.
  • DarrilDarril Member Posts: 1,588
    I agree with Veritas's simple answer - no.

From a bigger picture, degrees are valuable. If you have a degree, you'll earn more money than someone doing the same job without a degree. Long term, the degree is worthwhile.

One of the benefits of a degree is that it never expires. Once you earn it, you have it forever. Of course, the same can be said for the Security+ exam... at least until the end of the year.

Many training and college programs include packages of A+, Network+, and Security+. This is partially driven by DoD requirements that certain personnel working in IT have one or more of these certifications. It also shows a natural progression of increasing knowledge - A+, then Network+, then Security+.