Figured out weaknesses

trick000trick000 Member Posts: 89 ■■□□□□□□□□
Well after sitting through a couple of adaptive and linear practice exams on this CD I have, I've finally found some of my weaknesses and they are the following:

Memory in DOS and windows: Himem.sys, emm386.exe, different areas of memory and what they're called (conventional, upper memory, extended memory, high memory etc..). The exam get's very detailed here. For example it asks which type of memory transparently swaps data on and off the harddrive in 4k pages. icon_rolleyes.gif

File systems: I know the different file systems and their pros and cons but why do I have to learn what size the cluster is on a particular size disk for a particular file system?!?! icon_evil.gif

Differences between Windows NT and windows 2000: differences in administrative tools(mainly the names are different). This is because I have little experience with both. I did use 2000 when I was building servers but I didn't install them. I just downloaded an image of the OS and other software and tested the server hardware for 30 minutes. It was all pretty much automatic.

That's it for now. I just acquired this one particular practice exam CD and it is stumping me. The trancender linear exams aren't so bad. Sybex was a little harder but I still got into the 80 percentile range.

Anyways I'm just wondering if any of you guys can point me in the right direction. icon_confused.gif

Comments

• ghaoufghaouf Inactive Imported Users Posts: 317
    read over all your weakness spots from your books, if you still do not understand them, do some more research on the internet or at the library
  • bellboybellboy Member Posts: 1,017
    you may be asked on sizes of extended, expanded, etc, and you will need to know the different file systems, how to convert and which operating systems can and cannot use them, but
    trick000 wrote:
    which type of memory transparently swaps data on and off the harddrive in 4k pages.