Options

Looking for a good book/study guide

dmurray9133dmurray9133 Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi. Just passed my A+ exams and now moving onto Network+. I used the Comptia A+ Study guide to pass and while it did cover the material it did a very poor job explaning things. In fact it was often confusing.

I'm considering the Comptia Network + Study guide but again looking for good explanations so concepts are understandable. Any thoughts??

tx

Comments

• Options
    CuneoCuneo Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I saw your post yesterday and just joined. I am doing my Network+ course now and am on day 2. To be honest I used the CompTIA study guide by Todd Lammle and find it suits just fine. It is not too dry and is perfectly fit for purpose. You get a disc with it too and can practice your exams on this (and the book too). Good luck buddy.
  • Options
    Todd BurrellTodd Burrell Member Posts: 280
    I'm currently studying for the Network+ Exam, and I also am using the Lammie book as well as the Mike Meyers Network+ book by Clarke. I always try to use 2 books to prepare for these exams so I get 2 different views at to how to cover the requirements for the exam.

I also plan on using the selftest software exams and flash cards to prepare. They were very good for Security+, and they are usually much cheaper than Transcender and very similar.

I plan on taking this exam next Friday so I'll update you as to how this material did for preparation.

I'd also use the resources on this web site...

Good luck.
  • Options
    earweedearweed Member Posts: 5,192 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I recommend Labsim/Testout. It's video training and it has practice tests with it. If you're a student you can get an educational discount. Very thorough and you get to see the instructors doing a lot of things which is better than just reading about them.
    No longer work in IT. Play around with stuff sometimes still and fix stuff for friends and relatives.
  • Options