VLAN question

outrunredoutrunred Banned Posts: 30 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi.

I'm now studying for the second part - ICND2

and whilst the subject of VLANs is not unfamiliar to me, there is something I'd like to have cleared up if anyone can answer.

It is said that VLANs are like putting a machine onto a seperate subnet, yes, I get that....but in the CBT nuggets videos that I'm watching now it demonstrates configuring each VLAN client in it's own subnet. i.e. VLAN 10 devices might be on subnet 192.168.10.0 and VLAN 20 devices might be on subnet 192.168.20.0 etc.

Can I ask, is it necessary to be on different subnets? the switch isn't acting at layer 3 so why would it matter what subnet a device is on. For example is it not possible to have all machines in any VLAN on the same subnet, i.e VLAN 10 and VLAN 20 devices all configured with subnet 192.168.1.0?????

If you're following the router on a stick method, so setting up a trunk from the switch to a router, you wouldn't even need to create sub interfaces on the router would you? because they're on the same subnet, wouldn't the router just tag traffic say from VLAN 10 device to VLAN 20 device with that VLAN ID?

Have I gone insane, I'm sure this is how the VLANs at work, work? we only have a handful in the whole organisation and I'm sure we don't have to place each VLAN on a seperate subnet.

sorry for long quesiton for something I'm sure can be cleared up in a few words.

cheers.

Comments

• bermovickbermovick Member Posts: 1,135 ■■■■□□□□□□