career change: How to get out of IT!

bhs00bhs00 Member Posts: 70 ■■□□□□□□□□
I currently work as a jr system admin. Recently my wife had a child. I dont like where I am at currently and I want to move closer to home. 60 miles is just too much strain with a new child. "Home" has very limited job choices, very few include IT. Basically there is just a hospital and a community college that even has an IT department. I check thier job boards everyday. Recently, I applied for an IT technician job at the community college, a peon job. I though I would surely get an interview. However, I didnt even get an interview. 15 people applied and 12 were interviewed. Apparently I didnt meet thier qualifications (2 years progressive experience or a bachelor's degree). I have 2 years experience, a bachelor's degree, A+, Net+, Sec+, and one exam away from MCSA. Im bummed out. I had thought of changing careers. I just dont know what other career i may be qualified for. Does anyone know what type of career I may be qualified to do outside of IT?

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    bhs00 wrote: »
    Does anyone know what type of career I may be qualified to do outside of IT?

We can guess all day long, but without you telling us your skills we really aren't going to be able to help.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • bhs00bhs00 Member Posts: 70 ■■□□□□□□□□
    This is from my resume

SKILLS
    • Experience with many operating systems and software applications: DOS, Windows 3.11/95/98/2000/XP/Vista, Windows Server 2003, Microsoft Windows CE/Mobile 5, Ubuntu Linux, Macintosh OSX, MS Office 2003, MS Outlook 2003, Symantec Ghost, Norton Antivirus, Trend Micro Office Scan, AVG Anti-virus, Citrix Metaframe, Ultra VNC, VMware Server, VMware ESX Microsoft Virtual PC, Microsoft Visual Basic, Vertical Televantage IP Telephony, Funk Proxy Master, Netapp VFM, iLO, Hyper Terminal, HP Blade Servers.