Options

Passed the Network + exam today! But which way to go now?

KaylecKaylec Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Well I studied long and hard and I passed the N+, first time. I got an 820 score, I'm kind've curious what that translates to, percenile wise. I got my CCNA last september, now I got my Network +, I do have several options which cert to go after next. My goal is to stay in the networking field, I hear that server + is a good idea....but I was wondering how recognized it is. My other thoughts were to go with the A+, only because I like to tinker with pc's and from what I hear it's actually the precursor cert to the N+ (yeah I'm doing it all backwards, with the hardest stuff first). Then there's security+, or I could go suicide and go ccnp. To make things even better, all of this is to get me into the IT field, I have 2 cert's now, but zero IT experience (noone wants to hire you without experience, so how do you get it then ...interesting paradox). Anyone have any input on these certifications, any suggestions?
"Infinite Dreams, I Can't Deny Them"!

Comments

• Options
    RamsesKRamsesK Member Posts: 86 ■■□□□□□□□□
    congrats, jood job icon_exclaim.gif
    Formule One Racing Addict...
  • Options
    janmikejanmike Member Posts: 3,076
    Welcome to the forums, and congrats on the pass!

You have CCNA, so you were/are interested in networking. Then you mentioned Security+. Why not head for CCSP next then on to CCIE?

In order to get experience, you have to take what you can get. But, those who get in and then really apply themselves generally end up where they want to be. If you want to do IT, then do IT, and don't let anyone tell you anything different! But you have to "pay your dues". That's true of any profession.

Also, don't expect certs to carry you very far. Most adds that I see for IT positions of anything above entry-level jobs, ask for experience and
    an associate's or bachelor's degree, and seldom mention certfications at all.

Best of luck!